New: Bowditch – Southend Objectified

Released today, an album of documentation from site specific sound art projects by Stuart Bowditch.

Cassette and download available via bandcamp, here.

Stuart’s work is inspired by location and the people, experiences and objects he encounters there. He is particularly interested in sounds that are associated with place, overlooked and overheard noises of the everyday and highlighting the auditory as a defining factor in how we experience a particular environment. His recordings of people, their activities, experiences and environs have contributed to art installations, phone apps, archival records, dance performances, public consultation events, musical compositions, a computer game, a eulogy and sound tracks to short films.

“This collection of tracks comes at a critical and volatile time in both personal and creative aspects of my life. I needed to push things into a new direction as I was unhappy with my previous processes and set up. Reliance on the familiar was taking hold and I needed to get more unpredictability and reactivity into making and performing. So I dropped my old Hybernation alias in favour of my name, found some different tools and got to work on objects and recordings from my home town.”

www.stuartbowditch.co.uk

 

 

Leave a Reply

