Live Studio Guest: Jess Rowland

JessatGodafossOn the show on Friday 12th July I’ll be welcoming Jess Rowland to the studio to perform live and discuss some of her work.

In her own words:

Sounds from the ‘well was a 40 minute long part live performance, part audio installation that I created for Light Night Leeds in October 2012. A pre-recorded soundscape is mixed live with improvisatory flute. The soundscape was created using a variety of material including found sounds, field recording and voice. The flute improvisation is a live response to the soundscape and changes each time it is performed.

I studied Music & Performing Arts at De Montfort University and then spent several years working as a Lighting and Sound Technician in Theatres around the country. Since studying Music Technology in 2003 I have created pieces for installation, online radio, exhibitions, and live performance.

I work with musical and found sounds, and the spoken word; recording, remixing, and layering sounds; creating unusual rhythms resulting in soundscapes and atmospheres. I am influenced both by my musical background and my technical theatre work, combining both design elements and musical melodies together.

Website: www.jessicarowland.me.uk

Leave a Reply

